Science Advisors

We’re honored to have many of world’s leading climate scientists as our advisors. At the links below, you will learn not only about their scientific lives, but also what they do outside of science. You’ll also be able to see them in action, in videos about each of them.

Jerry Melillo

Jerry Melillo is a Science Director for Climate Communication. He is a Distinguished Scientist and Director Emeritus at The Ecosystems Center of the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole, Massachusetts, USA, and a Professor of Biology at Brown University.

Richard Somerville

Richard Somerville is an internationally recognized climate scientist and an expert on communicating clearly to the public what scientists have learned about climate change.

Ken Caldeira

Ken Caldeira is an atmospheric scientist in the Department of Global Ecology at the Carnegie Institution at Stanford University.

Kim Cobb

Kim Cobb is Georgia Power Chair & Professor of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, ADVANCE Professor, and Director of the Global Change Program at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Julia Cole

Julia Cole is a professor of Earth and Environmental Science at the University of Michigan.

Robert Corell

Bob Corell is Chair of the Arctic Climate Impact Assessment and a Principal for the Global Environment Technology Foundation.

Simon Donner

Simon Donner is a professor in the Department of Geography at the University of British Columbia.

Andrea Dutton

Dr. Dutton is a Professor at the University Wisconsin-Madison in the Department of Geosciences. Her main research focus is to establish the behavior of sea level and polar ice sheets during past warm periods to better inform us about future sea-level rise.

Brenda Ekwurzel

Brenda Ekwurzel is a senior climate scientist and the director of climate science for the Climate & Energy Program at the Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS).

Kerry Emanuel

Kerry Emanuel is an atmospheric scientist and Professor of Meteorology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Jennifer Francis

Jennifer Francis is a Senior Scientist at the Woodwell Climate Research Center.

Peter Gleick

Peter H. Gleick is co-founder and president of the Pacific Institute for Studies in Development, Environment, and Security in Oakland, California.

Katharine Hayhoe

Katharine Hayhoe is an atmospheric scientist who is a professor in the Department of Political Science and director of the Climate Center at Texas Tech University.

Greg Holland

Greg Holland is Chair of the Regional Climate Prediction Program at the National Center for Atmospheric Research in Boulder, Colorado.

Mark Z. Jacobson

Mark Z. Jacobson is Director of the Atmosphere/Energy Program and Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Stanford University.

Daniel Kammen

Dan Kammen is the Class of 1935 Distinguished Professor of Energy at the University of California, Berkeley, with parallel appointments in the Energy and Resources Group, the Goldman School of Public Policy, and the department of Nuclear Engineering.

Joan Kleypas

Joanie Kleypas is a marine scientist at the National Center for Atmospheric Research, who investigates how rising atmospheric carbon dioxide is affecting marine ecosystems.

James Kossin

Jim Kossin is an atmospheric research scientist in the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Center for Weather and Climate.

Chuck Kutscher

Chuck Kutscher is Director of the Buildings and Thermal Systems Center at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in Golden, Colorado.

Mike MacCracken

Mike MacCracken is Chief Scientist for Climate Change Programs with the Climate Institute in Washington DC.

Edward Maibach

Edward Wile Maibach is a Distinguished University Professor at George Mason University, and the Director of Mason’s Center for Climate Change Communication.

Michael Mann

Mike Mann is Director of the Penn State Earth System Science Center and a member of the Penn State University faculty, holding joint positions in the Departments of Meteorology and Geosciences, and the Earth and Environmental Systems Institute.

Jeff Masters

Jeff Masters writes about extreme weather and climate change for Scientific American in his blog, Eye of the Storm. In 1995, he co-founded the Weather Underground, the web’s first commercial weather service.

Jerry Meehl

Jerry Meehl is a senior scientist in the Climate and Global Dynamics Division of the National Center for Atmospheric Research.

Michael Oppenheimer

Michael Oppenheimer is Professor of Geosciences and International Affairs at Princeton University.

Naomi Oreskes

Naomi Oreskes is Professor of the History of Science and Affiliated Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Harvard University.

Jonathan Overpeck

Jonathan Overpeck is the Samuel A. Graham Dean, William B. Stapp Collegiate Professor of Environmental Education and Professor of Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering at the University of Michigan’s School for Environment and Sustainability.

Camille Parmesan

Camille Parmesan is Research Director at the French National Centre for Scientific Research and University Paul-Sabatier, a professor in Integrative Biology at the University of Texas at Austin, and holds the National Marine Aquarium Chair in the Public Understanding of Oceans and Human Health at Plymouth University, UK.

Stefan Rahmstorf

Stefan Rahmstorf is Head of Earth System Analysis at the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research.

Eric Rignot

Eric Rignot is a professor of Earth system science at the University of California, Irvine, and Principal Scientist for the Radar Science and Engineering Section at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

Barrett Rock

Barry Rock is Professor Emeritus of Natural Resources at the University of New Hampshire, holding a joint appointment in the Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space and the Department of Natural Resources and the Environment.

Paty Romero-Lankao

Dr. Patricia “Paty” Romero-Lankao joined NREL’s Center for Integrated Mobility Sciences in 2018 as a senior research scientist in joint appointment with the University of Chicago’s Mansueto Institute for Urban Innovation, where she is a research fellow.

Terry Root

Terry L. Root is a Senior Fellow/University Faculty at the Woods Institute for the Environment, and a fellow at the California Academy of Sciences.

Benjamin Santer

Benjamin Santer is an atmospheric scientist at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory .

Elizabeth Sawin

Elizabeth Sawin is the Co-Founder and Co-Director of Climate Interactive. Beth and her colleagues create user friendly computer simulations that allow leaders, journalists, and citizens to discover effective solutions to climate change and related issues, like food, water, health, and racial and economic equity.

Drew Shindell

Drew Shindell is a Professor of Climate Sciences at the Nicholas School of the Environment, Duke University.

Kevin Trenberth

Kevin Trenberth is a Distinguished Senior Scientist in the Climate Analysis Section at the National Center for Atmospheric Research.

Warren Washington

Warren Washington is an internationally recognized expert in atmospheric sciences and climate research.

Spencer Weart

Spencer Weart is an historian of science who has written extensively on the history of climate science and other topics.

Don Wuebbles

Don Wuebbles is the Harry E. Preble Professor of Atmospheric Science at the University of Illinois.

Katharine Wilkinson

Dr. Katharine Wilkinson is an author, teacher, co-founder of The All We Can Save Project, and co-host of A Matter of Degrees.

Gary W. Yohe

Gary W. Yohe is a Professor of Economics and Environmental Studies at Wesleyan University, where he has been on the faculty for 30 years.